DAWN OF THE DEAD (2004)


Dawn of the Dead (2004)
Dawn of the Dead (2004)

DAWN OF THE DEAD (2004)
Directed by: Zack Snyder
Produced by: Richard P. Rubinstein,
Marc Abraham, Eric Newman
Screenplay by: James Gunn
Based on: Dawn of the Dead by George A. Romero
Starring: Sarah Polley, Ving Rhames, Jake Weber, Mekhi Phifer, Ty Burrel
Released: March 19, 2004 >

I’m breaking my rule. I don’t normally review a remake before the original, but I’m saving the original Dawn of the Dead (1978) for something special in the near future.

I’m gonna take some heat for this, but I love Zack Snyder movies. He has a particular style of film making vision that I enjoy watching. Yes, even Sucker Punch. The remake of Dawn of the Dead was Snyder’s first big feature. For the opening act he brought a ferocious, maniacal, accelerated, blood thirsty predator to the table. Thousands of them. Seek shelter and batten down the hatches fast and solid. The world outside is not a great place to be right now. A group find their way to a mall and hold up. After some personal struggles amongst themselves inside the mall, the group realize their situation is dire and decide to make a run for it by rigging up some busses into slaughter machines to carve their way through the teeming masses of ravenous living dead outside, and make their way to a waiting boat at a marina. The death race is on! With some bloody results.

This version has a hyper ness to it that kept me enthralled. Added with the soundtrack it made for an exhilarating race for survival. Plus, I love the news footage / spliced with Johnny Cash’s “When The Man Comes Around” playing in the opening credit sequence – that hooks me in every time:

“And I heard, as it were, the noise of thunder:
One of the four beasts saying: “Come and see.” And I saw.
And behold, a white horse.

There’s a man goin’ ’round takin’ names.
An’ he decides who to free and who to blame.
Everybody won’t be treated all the same.
There’ll be a golden ladder reaching down.
When the man comes around.”

Yup. Now I feel like watching it again!

Leave a Reply

