WHICH HORROR FILMS ARE TRULY THE BEST OF THE BEST OF THE 1980’S? – You Decide!!


WHICH HORROR FILMS ARE TRULY THE BEST OF THE BEST OF THE 1980’S?

Which Was the Best of the 1980’s

Yesterday’s ACTION MOVIE list was incredible!! Such a great response on my G+ Community who absolutely ran with it. Lots of fun for a boring ole Weekday workday. So, since I’m still in an 80’s mood I thought “why not do an 80’s HORROR MOVIE list today?” and so…voila~!

I’m going to posit 3 of the best HORROR Movies of a particular year. We’re going to vote on which we think was the best of the lot in the poll — and then COMMENT as to why we picked that movie has our favourite!!

Looking forward to everyone’s thoughts on these carefully selected films!

Horror 1980

Weirdest reason I picked what I picked. The Fog and The Shining are great great movies that I absolutely love. But they are stand-a-lones …Friday the 13th, however, helped usher in the era of the Slasher (my favourite Horror sub-genre), and a major franchise. So it gets my vote.
 
 
Horror 1981

These are getting tough ’cause I love all 3 of these movies. But I just have two words to sum up why I chose An American Werewolf in London…Rick Baker!
 
 
Horror 1982

I have a soft spot for anthologies like Creepshow and I’m a huge Stephen King fan, Poltergeist is THE classic haunted house story, but THE THING had it all…Isolation -Don’t trust anyone – unbelievable special effects. I’m probably going to get flogged for this comment, but I think The Thing is John Carpenter’s Best Movie Ever! I had to make that movie my vote!
 
 
Horror 1983

My Pick – John Carpenter + Stephen King + 1957 Plymouth Fury = Helluva good movie! My vote is for Christine!
 
 
Horror 1984

Freddy Krueger smokes Jacob the Weirdo and crew and a C.H.U.D. in his wet dreams. Elm Street all the way.
 
 
Horror 1985

Truth be told, I have never seen The Stuff (I know sacrilege, right!!). So I can’t vote on something I’ve not seen. With the remaining choices being Fright Night or Re-Animator, well…a deliciously nude Barbara Crampton lying strapped on a metal table getting head from a…well, HEAD!…seals the deal for me on this decision! Herbert West and his Lovecraftian ways notches Re-Animator into the win column for me on this one!
 
 
Horror 1986

Oh man, this has been the toughest one so far for me to choose! Oh Ripley you know you’re my girl and I love your tough as shit attitude, but I think I got to go with the hometown boy David Cronenberg. This vote narrowly goes to The Fly. 
 
 
Horror 1987

Not looking to have my soul torn apart!! All great flicks, but the scaredy-cat in me is rootin’ for Hellraiser.
 
 
Horror 1988

Chucky all the way on this one. That’s why it gets my vote!
 
 
Horror 1989

Little Man Gage slicing Herman Munster’s achiles with a blade does it for me. Pet Sematary is my pick here.
 
 
 
**AGREE WITH THESE PICKS? DISAGREE? LET US KNOW WHY IN THE COMMENTS SECTION. DO YOU HAVE A FAVOURITE HORROR MOVIE FROM THE 1980’S THAT WASN’T FEATURED? LET US KNOW ABOUT THAT TOO IN THE COMMENTS FIELD!**

Leave a Reply

