Original Art – Horror Movie Poster – The Icons (1971 – 1996)


Horror Movies Poster - 25 Years of Mayhem -  1971 to 1996 - - Art  by Gerry Albert -- More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/
Horror Movies Poster – 25 Years of Mayhem – 1971 to 1996 – – Art by Gerry Albert — More From the Artist: http://gerryalbert.deviantart.com/gallery/

*Originally Posted on sister-site Imstillakid.com*

I’ve been trying my hand the past couple of months on working on long-term project based drawings. Usually when I sketch or paint something it takes me a few hours and then it’s done. This time around I wanted a project to work on. Something that I can take my time on and watch it come together over a period of time. That’s not really a new concept to me, as I have had projects like my transformed Air Hockey Table in the past, but I have yet to try something like this with a drawing. Now that I am finished, I’m pretty happy with the results! It took me about 5 weeks to complete, working on it an hour or two here or an hour or two there, but now it’s done and I want to share it (because what fun is art when it’s hidden to the world?). I’ve immersed myself a lot into my artwork lately (some of my other stuff will be in a subsequent post), and it has sidetracked me from posting regularly on my blog. Apologies friends for being away so long, but I’ll start working on being more regular with my posts. I’ve just been having too much darned fun with my art! Lol.

As most of my followers and visitors to my blog can attest, I’m a huge horror movie fan. So I wanted to put together a poster of sorts of all of my favourites. Originally, my concept was going to be 100 Years of Horror – 1915 to 2015 and showcasing the biggest and baddest horror movie monsters of the past century, but I was starting to feel burnt out the further along I was getting with this picture and decided to stop here (that doesn’t mean I wont continue it in the future). I would really love to get this printed and framed for myself, but it’s hard to find any sites that will allow me to do that with FanArt stuff. If anybody has any suggestions, I am definitely all ears! I would love and feedback or criticism for this piece. I’m a self taught artist who is trying to get better and better, so any and all tips are greatly appreciated from fellow artists! Just don’t be mean…I hate when people have to be nasty when they don’t like something. This was a lot of fun to do, and I already have other poster collages in mind for future sketches (I have a pretty sweet idea for a Pro Wrestling collage which I look forward to working on).

If you would like to see more of my artwork (which I hope you do!) please check out my Deviant Art gallery! Thanks!

So dear followers I challenge you! Do you think that you can name all of the characters in this poster, and what movie they are from?

Leave a Reply

