YOU DECIDE! The Best Cartoons of the 1980’s


WHICH WERE THE BEST SATURDAY MORNING CARTOONS OF THE 1980’S?

I have been having a lot of fun lately on my Google+ POP GOES THE WORLD Community lately and have been having a lot of fun discussing some vintage stuff. Today we’re looking at THE BEST SATURDAY MORNING CARTOONS OF THE 1980’S?

I’m going to posit 4 of the best CARTOONS of a particular year. We’re going to vote on which we think was the best of the lot in the poll — and then COMMENT as to why we picked that movie as our favourite and hopefully drum up some entertaining chit-chat about them!!

Looking forward to everyone’s thoughts on these carefully selected shows!

Cartoons 1980


I chose The Fonz and the Happy Days Gang as my vote. I sum up WHY I chose this cartoon pretty well here: http://imstillakid.com/2014/05/27/the-flash-2014-the-fastest-man-alive-returns-to-network-television/ Lol. It’s sooooooo bad it’s awesome!
 
 
Cartoons 1981

I picked Spider-Man and his Amazing Friends. Not to discredit The Smurfs (Smurfs was THE shit, man! I can’t believe that they’ve been around since the 50’s. And that they’re actually a French creation!) But I used to act out SAHAF all the time, and I would cry when it was pre-empted for Bowling For Dollars. Lol.
 
 
Cartoons 1982

I was 6 years old in 1982. I used to paint myself green but when he saw me, it was my Dad that turned into the Hulk! Lol. Hulk is my pick here.
Excelsior!
 
 
Cartoons 1983

This is the hardest pick so far for me. I watched all 4 of these shows religiously growing up. Yes, even Mr. T. But because I had countless hours of enjoyment with the toys, and because if this https://youtu.be/32FB-gYr49Y my vote goes to He-Man!
 
 
Cartoons 1984

Muppet Babies would have totally been my choice if Transformers wasn’t on the list. There is no denying the epicness of a Robot that morphs into a Walkman (dating myself…) or a car, a plane, a gun, an insect, a dinosaur…wait, what?? Ha ha ha. Yeah, Transformers 65% and Muppet Babies 35% is where I’m leaning. The sentient machines from Cybertron gets my vote.
 
 
Cartoons 1985

G.I. Joe was the first real serialized cartoon as far as I can recall. The narrator would sum up what’s happened so far and lead you right into the next episode. I think Silverhawks later employed that same technique as well. However, even with all that, G.I. Joe gets my vote because of all the wonderful life lessons it taught me. Now I know, and knowing is half the battle!
 
 
Cartoons 1986

Uhm…I ah…I ah…just watched Silverhawks this morning online…”TALLYHAWK! Partially metal, partially real….SILVERHAWKS!” 
 
 
Cartoons 1987

It only lasted one season, and is definitely not the front runner in this poll (it’s not even the 2nd imo), but I have always been a fan of the Bionic 6. I still sing the theme song to this day. And the action figures were Die-Cast Metal!! TMNT and Ducktales are certainly the best of this lot, but I’m sticking with the show with the Cybog Gorilla and mixed race bionic family!! 
 
 
Cartoons 1988

Now that I’m an adult, I can relate waaay more to Garfield then I did as a kid. I too love lasagna and hate Mondays. The fat orange cat for the win!
 
 
Cartoons 1989

I love that there was a cartoon featuring the late great home town great John Candy, but alas I have no memory at all of this cartoon. I can say the same about Super Mario. Of the remaining two I think I preferred Chip N Dale more. They get my vote.
 
 
**AGREE WITH THESE PICKS? DISAGREE? LET US KNOW WHY IN THE COMMENTS SECTION. DO YOU HAVE A FAVOURITE CARTOON FROM THE 1980’S THAT WASN’T FEATURED? LET US KNOW ABOUT THAT TOO IN THE COMMENTS FIELD!**

Leave a Reply

