YOU DECIDE! The Best Action Movies of the 1980’s!


WHICH ACTION FILMS ARE TRULY THE BEST OF THE BEST OF THE 1980’S?

This past weekend was a long weekend for us Northern folk in Canada, and I spent much of my weekend evenings watching movies. I finally was able to catch The Expendables 3 and while I was watching it, I started thinking about the Great Action Films that the weathered cast of the Expendables series starred in during the 1980’s. I thought it would be fun to discuss our favourite action movies of that era.

So starting with 1980, I’m going to posit 3 of the biggest blockbuster Action Movies of that particular year. We’re going to vote on which we think was the best of the lot in the poll — and then COMMENT as to why we picked that movie has our favourite!!

Let’s have fun with this!

1980


 
I chose Empire Strikes Back over the other two films simply because of timelessness. Flash Gordon and Superman 2 feel incredibly dated by today’s standards, but Empire still seems recent to me. That’s my 2 cents. Lol.
 
 
 
1981

 
As much as I love all three movies selected, Raiders of the Lost Ark is the only film I can watch over and over and over again.
 
 
 
1982

 
This one was tough for me. I love each of these films. I went with First Blood because it really was the original “one man army” movie and the last one in the franchise before Rambo became lamely superhuman. 
 
 
 
1983

 
I saw Return of the Jedi 4 times that year. The others years later. The magic, and my vote, goes to Jedi!
 
 
 
1984

 
For the sheer fact that it was the first Audio Cassette I ever received as a gift – which I listened to approx. 500,000 times from 1984 to 1988 – and because I have seen the movie almost as many times – and because I can recite every line verbatim…I have to go with Beverly Hills Cop.

“where the hell’d you get a truckload of cigarettes from, anyways?”
“the Dearborn hijacking.”
“the Dearborn Hijacking!! That f^cking bust went down last week, it’s supposed to be in the damn pound! Don’t f^ck with me Axel, your ass is skating on thin ice as it is.”
 
 
 
1985


 
Although Rocky 4 is my favourite Rocky film and quite possibly my fave Stallone movie ever — I had to give this one to Marty and Doc Brown. If anything, just to ensure that Marty’s kids don’t “grow up to be assholes or somethin’.”
 
 
 
1986

 
Top Gun and Big Trouble in Little China are two of my favourite films of all time. But I had to go with my guilty pleasure…Cobra! This is the quintessential essence of 80’s action hero cheese.
 
 
 
1987

 
“Hey Man, you’re bleedin”
“I ain’t got time to bleed”

Possibly my favourite Arnie movie ever gets my vote this time around!
 
 
 
1988


 
As much as I can appreciate that Ogre from “Revenge of the Nerds” kicks major ass in “Bloodsport”, and that the movie may have inspired the awesomeness that is the video game “Streetfighter” — there is no doubt that Die Hard is the better movie. Possibly the greatest of the decade! That’s why it gets my vote!
 
 
 
1989

 
I really like all of these mov…who am I kidding? The answer is Batman. But there really is no question.
 
 
 
**AGREE WITH THESE PICKS? DISAGREE? LET US KNOW WHY IN THE COMMENTS SECTION. DO YOU HAVE A FAVOURITE ACTION MOVIE FROM THE 1980’S THAT WASN’T FEATURED? LET US KNOW ABOUT THAT TOO IN THE COMMENTS FIELD!**

Leave a Reply

