ODE OF A HORROR FAN – POEM and HORROR VIDEOS


Hello Peeps! What a summer that was huh? Well, My Favorite Time of Year starts ramping up now…Halloween!! I love horror all year round, but I love it even more once October rolls around! I watch tons of horror movies, and draw up some horror themed pictures. To get into the evil spirit of the season, I’ve plucked some of my Horror-Fueled fan-made videos, and poetic ode to horror, from the Archives and posted to start off this ghoulishly delightful time of year!

ODE OF A HORROR FAN

By: Gerry Albert

I have been a horror film fan for most of my life,
Watching werewolves, monsters and nuts with a knife.
I’m may be afraid of what goes bump in the night,
But eerie movies of the macabre don’t pose much of a fright.

My older sister was a fan of the genre as a teen,
Her little brother watched the craziest images he’d seen.
But at a young age I knew it wasn’t at all real,
Knowing that distinction heightens their appeal.

For non-fans it depicts images they abhor,
But I love all the blood, and viscera and gore.
The menace, the mayhem, the graphic pearls,
The damsels, the heroes, and the ‘Final Girls’.

I’m not crazy, and my mind’s not to blame,
For my disturbed fascination with the criminally insane.
Bimbos and jocks get chopped up like a herd,
And I revel in the carnage like a big horror nerd.

“Psycho” made us afraid of getting in the shower,
And Jason Voorhies always displayed too much power.
“The Exorcist” made our heads spin like a top,
Until some maniac swings the axe for a chop!

The 70’s brought horror that was just within reach,
I mean “Jaws” did make us scared of the beach.
The 80’s presented Slashers and inventive decapitations,
Enough to give the bravest of sots heart palpitations.

Horror Film stars are legends of the silver screen,
Playing a killer, a victim, or a scream queen.
Lon Chaney, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Vincent Price,
Gave the audience the greatest performance of their life.

Some films go for art house, commentary, or schlock,
But the most memorable are
the ones that will terrify and shock.
Whether “Friday the 13th”, “Halloween”, or “Cape Fear”,
I’ll watch any horror film any day of the year!

Video 1 – CLASSIC HOLLYWOOD HORROR

Video 2 – DEADLY ANIMALS & OTHERWORLDLY CREATURES

Video 3 – SLASHERS

**My Review of My 5 Favourite 1980’s SLASHER FILMS!!**

**STAY TUNED!! There’s More Horror Goodness Coming!!**

Leave a Reply

